Thursday, June 15, 2006

Library 2.0 Extravaganza! : Michael Stephens in Second Life Library 4-part workshop

Want to see and hear the Creator of the Tame the Web Blog about Library 2.0? 4 sessions of one hour on one day about:
  • WEBLOGS & LIBRARIES: An in-depth look at the Biblioblogosphere -- all things blogs, libraries and librarians. We'll discuss best practices and lessons learned to make your library blog the most dynamic area of your web site! Time: 9:30 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 8:30 a.m. Central, 7:30 a.m. Mountain, 6:30 a.m. Pacific and Second Life, and 1:30 p.m. GMT, NL Time: 15:30!
  • INSTANT MESSAGING: DO YOU IM? How are libraries and librarians using Instant Messaging? This session explores a grass roots effort by many libraries to meet users where they interact online. We'll explore best practices and implementation strategies Time: 11:00 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 10:00 a.m. Central, 9:00 a.m. Mountain, 8:00 a.m. Pacific and Second Life, and 3:00 p.m. GMT, NL Time: 17:00
  • SOCIAL SOFTWARE: A SURVEY OF WEB 2.0. Librarians are finding their users are interacting online is social spaces and sites: creating content, collaborating, and building communities? What are some of the thriving social sites? How can we participate in sites like MySpace and Facebook? Time: 12:30 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 11:30 a.m. Central, 10:30 a.m. Mountain, 9:30 a.m. Pacific and Second Life, and 4:30 p.m. GMT, NL Time: 18:30
  • CREATING STAFF BUY IN FOR NEW TECHNOLOGIES: No matter what Web 2.0 technology you start with, a key element is staff buy in. We'll present Ten Tips for Staff Buy in and offer takeaways to get the ball rolling. Time: 2:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 1:00 p.m. Central, noon Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific and Second Life, and 6:00 p.m. GMT, NL Time: 20:00

You can see him in Second Life and listen to the audio:

Type your name and click enter to go into the room. A small software applet will download to your computer as you enter the audio room

This special event is sponsored by the Alliance Online Innovation Institute. It will be repeated on Friday, June 16, 2006.

See the complete post at the Second Life Library Blog.

Post a Comment